ISTD Competitions



A highlight of the calendar is the Marjorie Davies Star Tap Awards. The Junior and Senior awards are for boys and girls who are trained in the work of the Faculty.


The annual modern competitionĀ is the Janet Cram Awards. The Junior, Senior and Premier awards are for boys and girls from 8- 16 years old who are trained inĀ ISTD syllabus.


Various annual awards are arranged by the ISTD the most prominent being the Imperial Ballet Awards, in which entrants from Grade 3 to Advanced participate. Within this event is also included the Kathleen Browning and Eileen Read Choreographic Awards, thus encouraging children and students of all levels to develop a creative and musical awareness. Additional annual events include the Stella Mann Bursary and the Elizabeth Baines-Hewitt Award. These events are adjudicated by professional classical dancers and leading dance teachers. For established young teachers the Faculty also holds the Mavdor Scholarship which is designed to assist the successful candidate in furthering his or her qualifications within the Faculty.


Every two years a Classical Greek Dance Festival is held for dancers ranging from children of seven years to students and adults. There are also awards for original choreography and improvisation. The Ruby Ginner Awards (for solo dancers) are held annually for all standards.

The Daphne Hawkesworth Cup is awarded annually to a teacher who the Faculty committee feel has made an outstanding contribution to Classical Greek Dance.